Getting My Feet Wet

I wish I was taking photos on a beautiful sandy beach getting my feet wet. But I’m not. On a sandy beach that is. I am still getting my feet wet. That’s because I live near the Minnesota River and it is cresting at major flood stage this weekend.

Since we have been pumping water out of the basement since last weekend, my lovely yellow boots have become a major component in my spring attire. They are needed to go downstairs to check out the pumps and for walking outside on the soggy land.

I interrupted a small flock of geese swimming on our hayfield this morning and it didn’t disturb me a bit. “That’s not a lake,” I shout as they take flight. “That’s a hayfield!” I know it doesn’t look like a hayfield right now. But under all that water grasses and alfalfa struggle to survive.

You can see the geese taking flight in the photo below. The treeline in the distance is where the river should be when it is in its banks.

Sorry the geese are hard to see. I could use a better camera. I took a photo of one of the same trees I shot last week when I said I would need a raft to get the same angle this week. And I was right. I wish I had a raft! Here is the tree from a different angle.

Before you get to our place there is a 90 degree turn on the gravel road. This turn has been unpassable at historic flood levels. It is not that bad right now, but could be a one car only lane soon. The turn sign seems humorous to me given the water everywhere.

The sun shining on the the floodwater and this lonely pin oak caught my eye. It’s a tough life for this little oak between our winters and watery springs.

While it seems I am a long way from the oceans, perhaps I am not so far. The water is everywhere. When it recedes it will make it’s way to the Mississippi, and from there to the oceans.

Perhaps someday as the ocean waters glide across your feet they may send you a message. “I came a long, long way from a land of snow and cold to touch you with warmth now.”

This entry was posted in photography, seasons, Spring, Uncategorized, weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting My Feet Wet

  1. Deb Maher says:

    Beautiful picture, and well written description of the flooding. Hope the water doesn’t get any higher for you this spring. Stay dry!

  2. chlost says:

    It looks so cold as well as wet. We are still dry, but the snow is helping. No melt means less water so far. Good luck!

  3. We are still waiting for it to melt. It has been such a cold spring; it is going slowly. This is good for the farmers but I admit, I am impatient. The pictures are amazing – another great post!

  4. Rustey says:

    Your writing is a terrific window into your life & makes a diary too. I love your style…casual, comfy, earthly. The pictures are good. You’re an inspiration to me & I may get back into writing also because of you. Meanwhile, you continue on, Lady….keep up the script & thoughts!

Leave a comment