An Unexpected Visitor

We just finished the last night of shifts on midnight. We drove slowly on the way home, looking at the flooding river. It took a while to get home because I had to keep stopping to see if I could get a suitable photograph.

I took some photos but wasn’t really pleased with any of them.

Once home, we surveyed our own property, went online and checked out flood forecasts as well as weather forecasts. “Oh, it will only be as bad as last year,” I say with a sigh of relief. “We can handle that.”

We crack open a couple of beers and settle down to watch the tragedies happening everywhere else in the world when suddenly someone is knocking on our door.

It’s an elderly woman wanting directions. She wanted to go over the river, but the bridge is now blocked. So I invited her in and found a way for her to get around all the closures. I printed directions for her and hope she finds her destination.

I was rather embarrassed by my messy house and the fact that we were drinking in the morning, but she did not seem to mind.

I didn’t get a picture of our visitor. I think that would have freaked her out. I am putting one photo in of the sunrise over flood water.

I asked myself when I took the photo, “How can something bad look beautiful?” And after my unexpected visitor’s encounter I am calmer. It was nice to help someone.

This entry was posted in nature, Spring, weather, winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment