A true account of meeting the tooth fairy

10935625_4939521782725_1418771932_o

Just thought I would share a Facebook notification from my daughter in law and a tooth fairy story.

“Well my sweet Ava Ryan lost her very first tooth. After assuring her last night over and over it wouldn’t come out in her sleep and she would not swallow it (she was very worried, almost to tears). Well, It decided to come out in her sleep and she indeed swallowed it.”

Poor Ava! Her worst fears came true. The tooth fairy is busy trying to think of ways to make this work out…

I am not so fond of the tooth fairy anymore because when I lose a tooth, a new one does not grow in its place. I do recall being 6 years old and losing a tooth. I can’t remember if it was the first or second tooth I lost, but I was ecstatic!

The tooth fairy would leave a shiny dime under the pillow in return for the prized tooth.

I remember the night I met the tooth fairy. I shared a room with my older sister and we slept on single beds on either side of the walls. I was so excited about the tooth fairy that I just couldn’t hold it in.

“I’m going to stay up all night and see what the tooth fairy really looks like. I’m not going to sleep until I see her.”

“Ok,” my sister Lynne said from across the room. “Tell me what she looks like tomorrow morning.”

Lynne fell asleep quickly and I was left to play with my stuffed animal toys in total darkness ever so quiet as I didn’t want to wake her or scare the tooth fairy away. After a while I thought, “The tooth fairy only does her magic when you are sleeping. So I should pretend to be asleep.”

After waiting and waiting, pretending to be asleep, the bedroom door finally opened . A dim ray of light and shadows were all I could see. My eyes were open nearly as big as dinner plates but in the darkness, the tooth fairy did not see this.

The tooth fairy was big! She was not little at all and she had long hair that was wild looking. I knew it was not my mom because she kept her hair braided. I could not control my excitement and shouted, “Lynne! It’s the tooth fairy!”

That’s when the tooth fairy said, “Close your eyes while I do my magic, or I will never come back!”

I squeezed my eyes shut and waited for the tooth fairy to leave. Then I reached under my pillow and felt the shiny dime.

The next day I told my sister that the tooth fairy does not look the way you think she would.

Not everyone gets the same tooth fairy. Mine was amazing!

This entry was posted in children, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A true account of meeting the tooth fairy

  1. Juneal Reitan says:

    Loved the tooth fairy story.

Leave a Reply

