Homecoming!

First Day on the New Farm

It has been almost 6 months since I last wrote a post in which I promised I would write more often.

So for anyone wanting to know, the winter was long and dreary. The spring has been cold, wet and dreary.

The cloudy, cold days gave me time to read again. I read books and passed them along. One of my favorites is a book called, “Chosen by a Horse,” by Susan Richards. The book is about how she adopted a retired and neglected racehorse, and how the horse helped to heal the hidden wounds of the author. The subtitle is “How a broken horse healed a broken heart.”

 The book coincided with some events in my life.

This spring I became a five year survivor of breast cancer.  I only acknowledged it because we were stuck in a hotel in the middle of a blizzard with our truck broken down. On top of that, I was going to miss the annual harness racing meeting.

I was going to present a speech at the meeting for the new Hall of Fame inductee. Luckily, I had emailed a board member a copy of my speech. I never made it to the meeting as the blizzard raged on and the mechanics were having a hard time fixing the truck.

It was one of the most boring weekends ever. I had noticed a small lump in my breast before but now all I could do was think about it.  I made up my mind to see a doctor during that awful blizzard.

When we first bought this place of paradise or flood zone property, it was all about the horses. The diagnosis of cancer changed that.

I progressed through chemotherapy, surgery, more chemo and radiation. During that time I lost my competitive desire. We had only a handful of horses and they were sold along with most of the driving equipment we had acquired over the years.

The first winter without having to feed the horses was nice. But spring came and weeds were growing everywhere in the horse paddocks. I really didn’t like doing that when I knew a horse or pony would keep the paddocks perfectly clean.

I love the ponies especially Patience.

I kept dreaming all the time of having a nice buggy and a good Standardbred mare to drive down the road.

The dream never went away and a friend gave me a retired harness racing horse. I have a fancy silver plated saddle for her to wear, and an Amish made buckboard with a brand new leather harness.harness.

 

 

 </

I promise to write more than once every six months PS. I drove through a tornado warning to get her…

This entry was posted in adoption, Animals, Horses, photography, ponies, Spring, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homecoming!

  1. Littlesundog says:

    Sometimes the craziest rides are the most magnificent of our lives. That horse was meant to be… come hell or high water… even a tornado! And your life was meant to be too, my friend! I’m glad you are back! It was good to hear from you again.

  2. chlost says:

    Good to hear from you again! Your life events seem to coincide with weather events…hmmm…
    What a beautiful horse. Who can’t love someone as wonderful as her? Enjoy the summer.

  3. Juneal Reitan says:

    Congratulations on being a five year breast cancer survivor. that is remarkable milestone. Yay……….

    Yes, this was the endless winter and the wettest spring we have had in a long time. Summer just has to get better.

    I had two kidneys stones (gone now) plus I am still battling diverticulitis. I was in the hospital four days. I am on day 9 of 10 days of antibiotics once again and on my second yeast infection. Oh, isn’t this fun?

  4. Lynda says:

    So glad you are back. You were really missed, and glad you have a horse in the paddock again too!

Leave a Reply

