The Bridge

dakota visit 016

I’m having a hard time writing lately. I am not sure exactly why except I had one of those experiences that just knocks your ass off and you have nothing to say for a long while.

It happened last November when I asked the Dakota on a commemoratve walk if they would like to stop by for snacks.

Make no mistake about it; 1862 was one of the most terrible times in Minnesota history. Native Americans were fooled and forced into reservations. Food and supplies were witheld. Talk of revenge began.

But in these parts it didn’t begin until two young teenaged braves killed some chickens and a settler family. By this time the whole reservation was in starvation mode.

When I first read the entire story, I thought it was a shame Shakespeare never lived here, for here is a story.

As it happened, the town I live next to is one of the worst in their collective memory.

I offered apples, sunflower seeds mixed with raisins, and beef jerky that day.

The whole story is going to be on Twin Cities Public Television. I will only be in a small part of it. But I encourage you to watch.

It seems sometimes to me that people are more and more isolated. If you look at most violence, it was caused by isolation of some kind.

So let us not isolate others just because they look different or didn’t grow up the same way.

Spread Peace!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bridge

  1. Beth Dale says:

    Thanks! I am descended from the original Pilgrims who came to America to escape religious persecution. My ancestors helped in the founding of this country. How many more will die now from assault weapons and a general malaise of society?

  2. Juneal Reitan says:

    We watched a TV show last night showing INdians riding horses from South Dakota to Mankato and thought that might be the one where you appear but you did not. We will try to watch for it. do you know what the show is called?

    • Beth Dale says:

      My Mom watched it too and it must be the one Lynne was telling me about. Can you remember the title? The one I was in will not be aired til next fall…

  3. jbcamera says:

    So glad you are blogging again. I have missed you.

Leave a Reply

