What I learned from a farm cat and sunflowers…

 A little over a month ago, I published this photo which I called “Serenity.” A few days later, I ran over this very same cat with my 3/4 ton pickup.

Big Tom enjoys a Minnesota summer. His children aren’t able to jump this high!

Big Tom enjoys a Minnesota summer. His children aren’t able to jump this high!

I didn’t realize it at first. It was completely unintentional. But Big Tom seems to invite danger…

Once I did realize that I had run over this cat, I kind of went crazy! There was a whole big scenario at the farm, and the future of the cat was in my hands.

One of my neighbors is a veterinary student and works at a clinic. She provided me with an extra large kennel.

The cat did well in the kennel though it required a good deal of care. Afte about a month of this, Big Tom was sitting and standing in the kennel.

So yesterday when we were preparing for the first heavy frost, I thought I would open the door for Big Tom.

When I went to check on him he had jumped up a few levels on the hay stack. The next time I looked in on him , he was on top of the hay stack, and he was hissing and growling at me with those same crazy eyes he had when he was first injured. So I left him alone.

I searched for him today and could not find him. Eventually I went about my chores. When of all the things I saw Big Tom in his cleaned out kennel. I tried to clap the top on the kennel quickly, but Big Tom was faster than me.

(Big Tom has been eating 9 Lives cat food. Not an endorsement, just a fact.)

Last spring we planted sunflowers as usual on our property. Some were sheltered, others were not.

The winds of time can both weaken and strengthen all things in nature… (What I learned from a farm cat)

Sheltered Sunflowers after a brisk wind can’t stand up to those subjected to the wind from sprouts…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I learned from a farm cat and sunflowers…

  1. jbcamera says:

    So glad you were able to save the cat. He is obviously quite a character.

Leave a Reply

