Mid Summer Month’s Dreams

I love midsummer! Sometimes it is so hot that within minutes of stepping outside, sweat dribbles out of my scalp and almost all the memories of the cold, sub-zero winter weather are melted out of my brain.

We seem to live in a place of extremes. It is either flooding or it is in a drought. It is either cold or hot beyond belief all in one year.

This summer has been the best ever for our vegetable garden and our ditch hollyhocks. They were originally planted in the 1930’s. Over the past few years we have tended to them carefully and now they are taking over our ditches.

I love the subtle colors.

I also love the explosion of colors, like the 4th of July!

It looks as though we have a female hummingbird who likes the flowers as much as I do! I believe she may have a nest in a nearby maple tree though I have yet to spot the nest. I will consider myself unusually lucky if that should ever happen.

This was my first attempt at photographing a bird in the wild, and a hummingbird, at that! Please humor me, I know it is not the best.

I love summer!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mid Summer Month’s Dreams

  1. pixilated2 says:

    I thought they were all pink! Wow, I simply can’t wait to see what colors I have inherited! And I didn’t know that the humming birds loved them. What a bonus! Thank you Beth for this lovely preview! ~ Lynda

  2. chlost says:

    Wait a minute, you caught a hummingbird in mid-flight, and got it’s wings to hold still for the camera! That is an awesome photo.

  3. jbcamera says:

    Fabulous shot of the hummingbird. I sometimes manage to catch one at my feeder, but never feeding on a flower! Well done!

Leave a Reply

